Home News 13 governorship aspirants sign undertaking in Kwara, promise to embrace winner

13 governorship aspirants sign undertaking in Kwara, promise to embrace winner


ILORIN – Thirteen governorship aspirants on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kwara said they had agreed to abide by the outcome of Saturday’s governorship primary in the state.
The aspirants, who jointly signed an undertaking, promised to work for whoever emerged as the candidate for the success of the party at the poll.
A copy of the undertaking was made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Tuesday in Ilorin.
The Publicity Committee Chairman of PDP in the state, Chief Rex Olawoye who confirmed the meeting, said the 14th aspirant, Mr Dele Belgore, did not sign the undertaking because he was not at the meeting.
Olawoye told NAN that the aspirants met on Nov. 24, where they all agreed to work for peace during the primary election.
He said that the meeting was called by the aspirants on the platform of Kwara State PDP Gubernatorial Aspirants’ Forum.
The aspirants, in the undertaking, pledged their loyalty to the party and whoever emerged as winner of the governorship primary election.
Olawoye said the forum, on Nov. 1, adopted lists of the delegates in the 15 local government areas, leaving out Ilorin West because the list was not ready.
The agreement is addressed to the National Chairman of the party through the Senate President.
Those who signed were Sen. Simon Ajibola, (forum Chairman); Sen. Suleiman Ajadi, Sen. Gbemisola Saraki, Mr John Dara, Kale Belgore, Mr Sunday Babalola and Alhaji Jani Ibrahim.
Others are Prof. Shuaib Abdulraheem, Mr Bio Ibrahim, Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq, Mallam Sanusi Abdullahi, and son of late Governor Mohammed Lawal, Akeem. (NAN)

Previous articleExercise after menopause cuts risk of heart problems, study shows
Next articleEthiopia to invest $20 bn on energy in 5yrs

Leave a Reply