Primaries: Rep. Abdulkadir loses seat, Bagudu retains office

FUNTUA (KATSINA STATE) – Rep. Mansur Abdulkadir (APC-Katsina) has lost the party’s primary election while his counterparts, Alhaji Babangida Ibrahim and Amiru Tukur, picked the tickets on Saturday.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the primaries were hitch free as delegates voted freely while electoral officials counted the votes in the presence of aspirants, agents and security officials.
Former Funtua council Chairman, Alhaji Muntari Dandutse, won the Funtua poll with 363 votes after defeating Malam Sani Matazu, who got 109 votes.
In Bakori, Katsina State, the Returning Officer, Malam Abba Kaita, said the incumbent, Alhaji Amiru Tukur, defeated Alhaji Sani Dabai by 412 votes to 176.
In Malumfashi Local Government Area, the incumbent lawmaker, Alhaji Babangida Ibrahim, defeated three others by 337 votes for Malumfashi/Kafur federal constituency.
The member representing Funtua Local Government in the state House of Assembly, Malam Rabi’u Idris (APC), lost his deposit at the election, while his counterparts, Alhaji Abdullahi Ibrahim and Sheu Dhalhatu-Tafoki won
In Birnin Kebbi, Sen. Atiku Bagudu, representing Kebbi Central District on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), on Monday clinched the All Progressives Congress (APC) gubernatorial primaries.
The APC gubernatorial Electoral Officer, Alhaji Umar Dambo, announced that Bagudu scored 2,625 votes ahead of other contestants to emerge the flag bearer for the 2015 elections.
NAN reports that Bagudu defected from the PDP to the APC on the eve of the gubernatorial primaries
In Gombe State, Sen. Joshua Lidani, and Rep. Bello Usman, were elected as PDP Senatorial flag bearers.
Lidani polled 88 votes, followed by Sen. Ajuji Waziri who scored 39.
Alhaji Kabiru Bappa-Jauro, Returning Officer of the election, said the election was free, fair and transparent.
He commended the maturity exhibited by the aspirants during the primaries.
On his part, Bello emerged as Gombe Central PDP Senatorial candidate in a consensus where Mrs Hajara Salim and Alhaji Bello Mohammed stepped down.
The presiding officer for the election, Chief Ben Onyekwe, said the electoral process was adhered to, in spite of consensus.
Alhaji Abdulkadir Hammasale was elected candidate for the Gombe North Senatorial District on the PDP platform, following a consensus arrangement. (NAN)

Be the first to comment