National badminton champions get one-year kit sponsorship from Chinese company

Abuja – Ashaway, an Abuja-based Chinese company, has taken up the kit sponsorship of four players of the national badminton team.

The players are Eneojo Abeh snd Victor Makanju, who are male doubles partners, and Augustina Sunday and Deborah Ukeh, also ladies doubles partners.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the pair of Abeh and Makanju were ranked second in Nigeria and Africa in the 2014 Badminton ranking.

Abubakar Isah, the Chairman, FCT Badminton Club, while presenting some of the kits to the players on Thursday in Abuja said the sponsorship would be for a period of one year.

Related news  Football academy to unveil 4,500 capacity stadium

Isah said the gesture was to support and encourage the players, especially now that they have been selected to represent Nigeria at the forthcoming All-Africa Games in Congo-Brazzaville.

“This gesture is aimed at supporting the Badminton Federation of Nigeria in kitting our national players.

“Ashaway is a brand that is well known for kitting badminton players all over the world. We decided to bring them to Nigeria to support our players.

“We chose the African double champions and the upcoming ladies singles champion to kit them for one year.

“This means that they will have complete Ashaway kits of six rackets, 12 shirts and shorts and all the badminton kits they need to play for one year,’’ he said.
[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

Related news  Japan’s super fan looks to complete Olympic circle in 2020

President of Badminton Federation of Nigeria (BFN), Danlami Senchi, commended the FCT Badminton Club and Ashaway for the gesture, and called on other corporate bodies to emulate them.

Senchi noted that the development of the game in the country was gradually gaining momentum.

“I am optimistic that Nigeria will soon be a country to reckon with in the game of badminton,’’ he said.

Speaking also at the event, Mohammed Bako, the national badminton coach, said the four players were selected based on their performances, ages and potential to represent the country at international competitions.(NAN)

Be the first to comment