Enugu CJ inaugurates 4-member Local Government Election Tribunal

Whatapp News

By Stanley Nwanosike

Enugu –   The Enugu State Chief Judge, Justice Priscilla Emehelu, on Thursday inaugurated a four-man Local Government Election Tribunal to hear petitions issues arising from the just-concluded council elections in the state.

The tribunal has Justice Frederick Obieze (rtd) as the Chairman, Mr Hillary Ugwoke as the Secretary, while Messrs Joseph Onah and Amogechukwu Eze are members.

Administering the oath of allegiance on members of the tribunal, the Chief Judge said the constitution of the tribunal was as enshrined in section 181 (5) and Cap 101 Vol. 4 of the Local Government Revised Law of the state.

Related news  Dangote Foundation donates N200m food items to IDPs in North East

Emehelu charged the members to avoid any form of partiality in the discharge of their duties.

She admonished them to give the petitions before them adequate attention.

Responding on behalf of members of the tribunal, Justice Obieze pledged that they would carry out their duties creditably as well as eschew corruption in all ramifications.

Obieze said the tribunal would preserve, protect, defend and abide by all the stipulations in the 5th schedule of the constitution.

He said the tribunal would address all petitions filed against the outcome of the Nov. 4 local council elections in the state.

It would be recalled that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) swept all the chairmanship and councillorship positions in the local council elections in the state. (NAN)

Whatapp News