PDP chairmanship: Lagos lawmaker drums support for Bode George

By Yemi Adeleye

Lagos –   Mr Dipo Olorunrinu, a People’s Democratic Party (PDP) lawmaker in the Lagos State House of Assembly, on Thursday said that the national leadership position of the party should be reserved for an elder.

Olorunrinu, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Lagos that of all the aspirants for the PDP chairmanship, only Chief Bode George could take the party to its eldorado.

The lawmaker, representing Amuwo-Odofin Constituency I in the Assembly, said that George had got maximum experience to lead the party as the former Deputy national chairman of PDP.

““When it comes to government and administration, I stand behind the youths-the youths should be propelled and encouraged.

““But when it comes to position that determines leadership and consultancy, this is when we need elder statesmen of the party.

““That is why Chief Bode George deserves the position not kids,’’ he said.

According to him, George remains an elder statesman in PDP that is all-encompassing and has the experience in every sector.

Olorunrinu, who added that George was once a PDP South West chairman and won five states for the party, said he was the best man for the job.

““When we want to choose people, we look at their pedigrees and experience and not their facial value.

“”There is a serious business to be done that we need to face. Chief Olabode George is the best that can run it, even if he made any mistake in the past.

““There is no human being without mistake. We need to look out for the one who has passed through the rope before and has learnt.

““We should choose him. He knows the way,’’ Olorunrinu said.

The chieftain called for a credible convention to elect party’s leadership to guarantee bright fortune for PDP in 2019 General Elections.

The eight contenders vying for the seat of the national chairman of PDP were from South West: former Oyo State Gov. Rashidi Ladoja; former Ogun State Gov. Gbenga Daniel, former PDP National Secretary, Prof. Wale Oladipo.

Also in the chairman race were former Lagos State Governorship candidate, Mr Jimi Agbaje, former Minister of Sports and Special Duties, Prof. Taoheed Adedoja; former Education Minister Prof. Tunde Adeniran.

Others are; Mr Akin-Deko Akintayo from Ondo State and former PDP Deputy National Chairman, Chief Olabode Georg.

The PDP national convention would be holding on Dec. 9, in Abuja. (NAN)