INEC Releases Names of Candidates for Nov. 17 By-elections

Whatapp News

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the names of political parties and their candidates for the November 17 by-elections in Cross Rivers, Kwara, Ekiti and Akwa Ibom States.

The commission had earlier released timetable and schedule of activities for the by-elections in Kankia/Kusada/lngawa Federal Constituency of Kastina State, Toro Federal Constituency of Bauchi State, Ekiti/ Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency of Kwara State and lkom II State Constituency of Cross River State on October 29.

INEC National Commissioner on Voter Education and Publicity, Barr. Festus Okoye, in a statement Thursday in Abuja, said that INEC by the timetable and schedule of activities set November 4 as the last day for the conduct of primaries by the political parties to select their candidates for the said constituencies, in accordance with Section 87 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

Related news  Police restore law, order after protest on alleged kidnapping in Kaduna

He said, “In the same timetable and schedule of activities, the last day for the submission of Forms CF001 and CF002 was 6th November 2018. As at the close of nomination.”

Okoye said the names of political parties and candidates for Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa Federal Constituency of Katsina State by-election include, Nasiru Lawal Kankia of People’s Redemption Party (PRP), Abdullahi Umar of Yes Electorates Solidarity (YES), Abdussamad Yusuf Abdullahi of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and Abubakar Yahaya Kusada of All Progressives Congress (APC).

For Toro Federal Constituency of Bauchi State, the political parties and candidates that are contesting include, Shehu Buba Umar of PDP and Comrade Yusuf Nuhu of APC.

Related news  Zamfara emirs apologise to NAF, say air strikes killed innocents ‘mistakenly’

Also, for Ekiti/Irepodun/Oke-epo Federal Constituency of Kwara State, the political parties contesting include, Femi Awokunle Ona-ara of Labour Party (LP), Olaniyan Taiye Ayorinde of Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), Jimoh Saheed Damilare of PDP, Ajayi Olayemi Bidemi of Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) and Olawuyi Raheem Tunji of APC.

For Ikom 2 State Constituency of Cross River State, the name of the political party and the candidate for the election is Egbong Stella Nkoro of PDP.

The electoral body noted that the by-elections would hold as scheduled on November 17, adding that all arrangements have been made for the successful conduct of the elections.

Related news  How internet users in Nigeria can be protected from cybercrime – NCC

The Commission implored all participating political parties and their candidates to cooperate with INEC to ensure peaceful and successful elections.(Thisday)


Whatapp News

Be the first to comment