AFCON: Gernot Rohr Names Final 23 Man Super Eagles Squad, Iheanacho, Ajayi Dropped

Whatapp News

Ahead of 2019 AFCON tournament in Egypt, Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has named the final 23 Man squad that will represent the country at the tournament this month.

The coach dropped Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi from the 25 man provisional list.

Kelechi Iheanacho was already a subject of doubt after an uninspiring season in the English Premier League with Leicester city.

Semi Ajay, the centre back Rotterdam FC player was obviously surplus to requirements given the available options in that position. Regulars William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruoh, Leon Balogun and Chigozie Awaziem took up the centre back spots.

The rest of the squad will travel for the tournament which kicks on June 21, in Egypt today by 3pm on a chartered flight.

Whatapp News