Home Entertainment ’76’ Wins Five Awards At AMVCA 2017

’76’ Wins Five Awards At AMVCA 2017 [See Full List Of Winners]


The movie, ’76, which was directed by Izu Ojukwu, emerged the biggest winner at this year’s The Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award (AMVCA).

The event was held at the Convention Centre of the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos on Saturday.

Actress Funke Akindele also won two awards, while the Trailblazer Award went to Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama and Chika Okpala aka Chief Zebrudaya took home the Industry Merit Award.
Hide quoted text

’76 stole the show, winning Best Movie, Best Actress, Best Costume Designer, Best Art Director and Best Director.

See full list below:

Best Makeup Artist – Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon for Oloibiri

Best Costume Designer – Pat Egwurube for ’76

Best Art Director – Pat Nebo for ’76

Best Sound Editor – Guy Steer for VAYA

Best Picture Editor – Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson for Oloibiri

Best Lighting Designer – Elliot Sewape for 93 Days

Best Cinematographer – Lance Gewer for Happiness Is A Four Letter Word

Best Short Film/Online Video – Ogo Okpue for Cat Face

Best Documentary – Uga Carlini for Alison

AMVCA Recognition Award for the best MNet series – Hustle

Best Actor in a Comedy Series – Samuel Ajibola for The Johnsons

Best Actor in MNet Drama Series – David Jones David for Hotel Majestic

Best Comedy Series – The Johnsons

Best MNet Drama Series – Tinsel

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Swahili) – Zilizala

Best Indigenous Language (Hausa) – Tijani Shehu Yahaya for Yaki Da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola for Somewhere In The Dark

“Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Igbo) – Crey Ahanonu for Amonye Bu Onye

Best Soundtrack (Original Score) Michael Ogunlade for The Encounter

Best TV Show – Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary

Award for Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) goes to the writers of VAYA

Best Supporting Actress – Ebele Okaro Onyuike for Four One Love

Best Supporting Actor – Rotimi Salami for Just Got Married

Best Actress Comedy (Movie/TV Series) Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary

Best Actor Comedy (Movie/TV Series) – Ime Bishop Umoh for The Boss is Mine

Trailblazer Award – Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama

Industry Merit Award – Chika Okpala aka Chief Zebrudaya

Best Movie East Africa – Sarika Hemi Lakhani for Kati Kati

Best Movie West Africa – Rogers Ofime for Oloibiri

Best Movie Southern Africa – Elvis Chuks for All About Love

Best Actress (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Rita Dominic for ’76

Best Actor (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Sambasa Nzeribe for Slow Country

Best Director – Izu Ojukwu for ’76

Best Movie – ’76

Previous articleFour Soldiers Injured As Nigerian Troops Capture 14 Boko Haram Suspects – Official
Next article9 NCAA Inspectors Qualify As ICAO Instructors

Leave a Reply