Home Politics 83 clubs to compete in Federation Cup’s national competitions

83 clubs to compete in Federation Cup’s national competitions


Abuja – A total of 83 clubs will be drawn for the men and women Federation Cup competitions whose national phase begins next month, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) said on Wednesday.

Head of NFF’s Federation Cup Unit, Emmanuel Adesanya, said in a statement that a total of 61 clubs would be involved in the men’s version of the competition.

Twenty-two clubs would be involved in the women’s event.

The participating clubs are made up of a total of 18 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) clubs, 19 Nigeria National League (NNL) clubs and nine Nationwide League One clubs.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the rest 15 are non–League clubs.

In the women’s draw, 16 Premier League clubs, one Pro-League and five amateur division teams would take part in the competition.

The women clubs include COD United Ladies, FC Robo (Lagos State); Capital City Doves (FCT); Nasarawa Amazons (Nasarawa State); Rivers Angels (Rivers); Delta Queens (Delta) and Bayelsa Queens (Bayelsa).

Others are Abia Angels, Gift of Life (Abia); Edo Queens, Martins White Doves (Edo); Tokas Queens, Mosco Queens (Ogun); Sunshine Queens, Rising Queens (Ondo State) and Confluence Queens (Kogi).

The rest are Katsina Queens (Katsina State); Sure Babes (Kwara); Osun Queens (Osun); Ibom Angels, Alberto Queens (Akwa Ibom) and Pelican Stars (Cross River).

In the men’s draw are Enyimba FC, Abia Warriors (Abia); defending champions Akwa United FC, Starlets FC (Akwa Ibom); FC IfeanyiUbah (Anambra); Wikki Tourists and Wikki Tourists Feeders (Bauchi State).

There are also Yenagoa City, Nembe City (Bayelsa); Lobi Stars, Dreams FC (Benue); El-Kanemi Warriors, El-Kanemi Babes (Borno); Rovers FC (Cross River); Warri Wolves, J. Atete (Delta); and Ebonyi United (Ebonyi).

Also, there are Inneh Stars, Dynamite FC (Edo); Rangers International (Enugu State); Top World, Ekiti United (Ekiti State); FC Abuja, FRSC FC (FCT); Yarmalight FC and Flash Flamingoes (Gombe State).

Others are Heartland FC, Papilo FC (Imo); Jigawa Golden Stars (Jigawa); Kaduna United (Kaduna State); Kano Pillars (Kano State); Katsina United and Katsina United Jnr (Katsina State).

Equally in the draw are Galadima Best, Zara FC (Kebbi); Kwara United, ABS FC (Kwara); Kogi United, FC Lokoja (Kogi); MFM FC and Bridge FC (Lagos State).

The draw also has Nasarawa United, Akwanga Selected (Nasarawa State); Niger Tornadoes (Niger); Sunshine Stars, Akure City (Ondo State); Gateway FC, Almar FC (Ogun) and Prime FC (Osun).

Shooting Stars, Crown FC (Oyo State); Plateau United, Giwa FC (Plateau); Rivers United and Go-Round FC (Rivers) also made the Round of 64.

The rest are Sokoto United, Fasbir FC (Sokoto State); Gashaka Green Buffaloes (Taraba); Yobe Desert Stars, Damaturu United (Yobe) and FC Zamfara (Zamfara).

NAN reports that the draw for both competitions will be conducted on May 5 in Abuja.(NAN)

Previous articleAbsence of fiat stalls NIMASA trial
Next articleLagos prisons command gets new comptroller

Leave a Reply