Ad-hoc Electoral Committee admits all 4 candidates for FIFA presidential election

Whatsapp News

Abuja- The Ad-hoc Committee world football governing body FIFA on Monday formally admitted and declared four candidates eligible for the election into the office of FIFA President.

The candidates admitted and declared for the election scheduled for the FIFA Congress in Zurich on May 29, following the required regulatory assessments, included incumbent Sepp Blatter of Switzerland.

The rest are Ali Al-Hussein of Jordan, Luís Figo of Portugal and Michael van Praag of The Netherlands.

“Each of them underwent an integrity check by the investigatory chamber of the independent Ethics Committee in accordance with article 8 paragraph 1(e) and article 15 paragraph 2 of the Regulations for the FIFA Presidency.

“Upon receipt of the results of the integrity checks, the Ad-hoc Committee convened at the Home of FIFA to validate that each of the candidatures fulfilled the requirements as stipulated in the FIFA Statutes and Regulations.

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

“Prior to the final review process, Domenico Scala (as a dual Swiss/Italian national) and Claudio Sulser (as a Swiss national) withdrew from their positions to avoid any appearance of a potential conflict of interest based on nationality.

“As provided for by the Regulations, Sindi Mabaso Koyana (South Africa), as the independent deputy chairwoman of the Audit and Compliance Committee, replaced Scala, and Lim Kia Tong (Singapore), as the deputy chairman of the Disciplinary Committee replaced
Sulser as representatives of the Ad-hoc Committee.

Larry Mussenden (Bermuda), chairman of the Appeal Committee, remains with the Ad-hoc Committee and was agreed on as the new chairman of the committee by the Ad-hoc Electoral Committee,’’ a statement from the FIFA Office said..

In its new composition, the committee will continue to supervise the process to ensure the correct application of the FIFA Statutes, regulations and provisions.

The Ad-hoc Committee will also supervise the administrative process relating to the actual election at the FIFA Congress in Zurich.(NAN)