Adedoyin, minister in Obasanjo’s administration, wins Kwara House of Reps election

Whatsapp News

Omu-Aran (Kwara)- Princess Funke Adedoyin, a minister in President Olusegun Obasanjo’s administration, has been declared winner of the Kwara House Representatives for the Ekiti, Isin, Irepodun and Oke-Ero Federal Constituency.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Adedoyin is a former Minister of Development and former Minister of State for Health.

She had contested for the constituency election under the APC in Saturday’s Presidential and National Assembly elections.

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

The Returning Officer, Mr Murtala Tukur, while announcing the result at the Irepodun Local Government secretariat Sunday in Omu-Aran, said Adedoyin polled 26,758 votes.

She beat her closest rival, Mr Richard Babatunde of the PDP, who scored 23,123 votes.

Tukur, who is of the University of Ilorin, disclosed also that the constituency’s total number of registered voters was 154, 252, but only 54,947 voters were accredited.

“The total number of valid votes was 50,527, rejected votes 2,729 , for the total number of votes cast to be 53,256,’’ he said.

Adedoyin, in an interview with NAN, attributed the victory to the support of her and the entire people of the constituency.

She promised to embark on which would add values and improve the living standard of the people of the constituency.

“I give glory to the almighty God for this victory and, more importantly, the support of my party and that of the people who shared in the desired change we chose to promote,” the new lawmaker said.(NAN)