Home News APC inaugurates Kogi gubernatorial screening committee

APC inaugurates Kogi gubernatorial screening committee


Abuja  – The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Monday inaugurated a 7-man committee to undertake the screening of 27 aspirants seeking to clinch the party’s gubernatorial ticket in Kogi State.

The APC National Organising Secretary, Mr Osita Izunaso, while inaugurating the committee in Abuja, noted that there was a high level of interest amongst party members in the state asides the aspirants.

Izunaso explained that all aspirants must be duly registered and financially up to date adding that five members of the party from different local governments must nominate an aspirant to qualify.

He said that it was the responsibility of the screening committee to scrutinise every certificate brought before them by the aspirants emphasising that any aspirant who poses an obstacle to the screening of certificates should be immediately disqualified.

”All aspirants must sign the party code of conduct. The screening will be done in line with the 1999 constitution as amended.

”Only the aspirants cleared will go for the primaries,” the Organising Secretary said.

He said there would be a separate screening appeal committee for aspirants who are not satisfied with the work done by the screening committee.

Inaugurating the screening committee, the party Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun represented by the Deputy Chairman South, Chief Segun Oni, gave assurance that the screening of the aspirants will be free, fair and transparent.
[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

Members of the screening committee include its Chairman, Mr Boss Mustapha, Rep. Emmanuel Ufuoma, Chief Geoffrey Ufuru, Mrs Tina Adike, Mrs Ekwy Oyindo and Mr Bashir Sheriff Machina.‎

Amb. Lawal Munir is to serve as Secretary. (NAN)

Previous articleNDE to engage 120 unemployed youths on skill acquisition
Next articleCapital market indices down by 0.04 per cent

Leave a Reply