Buhari approves renewal of appointment of 12 non-career Ambassadors

Whatsapp News

By Ismaila Chafe

Abuja – Buhari has approved renewal of the appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors, assuring of fairness in representation and inclusiveness in all matters of governance.

Malam Garba Shehu, Senior Assistant to on Media and Publicity, confirmed this in a statement in Abuja on Thursday.

Shehu stated that the assurance from became necessary following recent complaints after announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were captured.

He said: “The renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in of the ambassadors, and will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.’’

According to presidential aide, the ambassadors whose appointments were renewed are:

Mrs Uzoma E. Emenike (Abia)
Yusuf M. Tuggar (Bauchi)
Muhammad B. Madugu (Bauchi)
Amb. Baba Ahmad Jidda (Borno)
Uyigue O. Oghogho (Edo)
Dr. Eniola Ajayi (Ekiti)
Deborah S. Iliya ()
D. Rimi (Katsina)
Prof. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande ()
Dr Modupe E. Irele (Lagos)
Adeyinka Asekun (Ogun)
Sen. Goni Modu Zanna Bura (Yobe)
President Buhari congratulated the ambassadors on the renewal, urging them to keep upholding and promoting the values of stewardship to Nigeria, while bridging good with other nations.