CCT Official Seeks Extension Of Initiative To 15 Adamawa LGs

Whatapp News

By Muhammad Auwal



Yola   –     Following the successful implementation of the Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) programme in six local government areas of Adamawa, its head in the state, Mr Zhegun Joseph, has canvassed coverage of the remaining 15 councils in the state.

Joseph made the call in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Tuesday in Yola.

He described the programme as the ” first of its kind that has reached out to the real vulnerable and poor people at the grassroots.’’

Since the implementation of the programme in 2017 in the state, a total of 13,305 beneficiaries had registered in six local government areas.

” We are appealing to the Federal Government to expand the programme to cover the remaining 15 local government areas of the state,” he said.

Joseph, who attributed the success of the programme to the fact that there was no political interference, said beneficiaries were drawn from Madagali, Michika, Song, Girei, Numan and Lamurde local government councils.

He said each benefitting household received a monthly stipend of N5,000.