Home News Centre holds workshop on Nigeria’s democratic governance

Centre holds workshop on Nigeria’s democratic governance


Abuja  – The Savannah Centre for Diplomacy, Democracy and Development (SCDDD), a Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), has urged Nigerians to mobilise and dismantle factors threatening the nation’s democracy.
It said in a statement on Wednesday in Abuja that there were ominous signs in the democracy but stated that with dialogue and proper education and sensitisation, the dangers would be averted.
The statement signed by the Executive Director of the centre, Mr Abdullahi Omaki, therefore said that the centre had concluded arrangement for a workshop to dissect issues of democratic governance in the country.
It said that the workshop with “The Challenges of Federalism in Nigeria“ as theme would examine the performance of Nigeria’s Fourth Republic since 1999, and would on May 27 and 28 in Abuja.
It said that the workshop would address critical issues affecting the socio-economic and political development as well as the continuing survival and safety of Nigeria.
“It would also seek support for Government’s efforts to re-examine the fundamentals of the nation’s economy as well as identify the basic minimum institutional reforms necessary to facilitate the stability and growth of Nigeria’s economy,“ it said.
The centre said that “these objectives are expected to be realised through in-depth discussions of the topics and issues slated for examination during the workshop’’.
It expressed the hope that the government may find the policy recommendations that would be generated at the workshop helpful in re-directing its policies.
It said that Prof. Sam Egwu of the University of Jos would deliver the Keynote Address on “The Challenges of Federalism in Nigeria.
Dignatories expected at the workshop are Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi, Amb. Babagana Kingibe, Prof. Itse Sagay, Mr Femi Falana (SAN), Prof. Okey Ibeanu, Prof. Abubakar Momoh, Prof. Abubakar Sadiq and Prof. Ode Ojowu.
Others include Prof. Mike Kwanashie, Prof. Jibrin Ibrahim, Dr Hakeem Baba-Ahmed, Dr Clement Adibe and Bishop Idowu-Fearon. (NAN)

Previous articleHockey Federation moves National Super League to July
Next articleOgun SUBEB to sustain capacity building programmes for science teachers

Leave a Reply