Home Education Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Commonwealth Countries 2018

Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Commonwealth Countries 2018


The 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for entries.

Application Deadline: 1st November, 2017

Offered annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: Commonwealth countries (See below for list of countries)

About the Award: The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country. Short stories translated into English from other languages are also eligible, and we invite writers from Mozambique who write in Portuguese, and writers who write in Samoan, Swahili and Bengali, and who do not have an English translation of their story, to submit their stories in the original language.

Offered Since: 2012

Type: Contest

Eligibility: To be eligible, candidates must:

  • have an unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words)
  • be a member of a Commonwealth country
  • For regional purposes, entries will be judged by country of citizenship. Where the writer has dual citizenship, the entry will be judged in the region where the writer is permanently resident.
  •  must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2016.
  • There is no requirement for the writer to have current residence in a Commonwealth country, providing she/he is a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth Foundation which will exercise its judgement, in consultation with the prize chair as necessary, in ruling on questions of eligibility. The ruling of the chair on questions of eligibility is final, and no further correspondence will be entered into.

Selection Criteria: The international judging panel comprises one judge from each of the five regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. While the entries will be judged regionally, all judges will read and deliberate on entries from all regions.

Number of Awardees: 5

Value of Contest: Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Eligible Countries: Countries in Africa include: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia. Overseas Territories: St Helena, Tristan Da Cunha, Ascension Island.

Other countries:

  • Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.
  • Canada and Europe: Canada, Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom. Overseas Territories: Gibraltar, Falkland Islands.
  • Caribbean : Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago. Overseas Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands.
  • Pacific: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu. Overseas Territory: Pitcairn.

How to Apply: Before you enter your story, do make sure you read the eligibility and entry guidelines. Then apply here

Visit Contest Webpage for details

Award Provider: Commonwealth Foundation

Important Notes: Please note that you will see a confirmation page with your reference number when you have successfully submitted your short story. You should make a note of the number and quote it on any correspondence with Commonwealth Writers.

Previous articleBiafra: Igbo Assembly tells Buhari what to do to Nnamdi Kanu
Next articleNational University of Singapore PHD Scholarship for International Students 2018

Leave a Reply