Home Top Stories Coup: Nigeria-led ECOWAS imposes sanction on Niger Republic

Coup: Nigeria-led ECOWAS imposes sanction on Niger Republic


Photo: ECOWAS leaders in Abuja on Sunday

In a swift response to military coup in Niger Republic, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has announced sanction on the country to force the coupists to relinquish power.
At a meeting held in Abuja, the Nigerian capital on Sunday (today) ECOWAS decided to impose a no-flight zone over the country.

The decision by the ECOWAS followed the increasing tension stirred by the military actors who have taken over power in Niger.

This significant move which includes air and land border closure, is seen as a crucial reaction to the recent ascendancy of the junta, which has stirred significant unrest in the country and poses a threat to political stability within the region.

The ECOWAS leadership believes that the imposition of a no-flight zone will help curb the junta’s influence and hinder any potential allies from providing aerial support, even as leaders of the coup fear that the regional body could stage an imminent military intervention in the capital of the Sahel country.

In addition to the no-flight zone, the regional body has agreed on immediate financial sanctions over the coup, and has given the junta a week to cede power, while noting that a use of force has not been ruled out.

ECOWAS also insisted that President Mohamed Bazoum remains recognized as president of Niger, and called upon member states and the international community to uphold and respect these decision, in an effort to help restore peace and stability in the republic.

Nigeria’s President Bola Tinubu is the current chairman of ECOWAS. (CHANNELS TV)

Previous articleDSS releases Nnamdi Kanu to meet doctors
Next articleElectricity Power: Hon Ogene makes case for investment in renewable energy, hails House leadership

Leave a Reply