COVID-19: UK places travel ban on 11 African countries

Whatsapp News

The Kingdom has extended the ban travellers entering England to 11 African countries in a bid to prevent the spread of a COVID-19 variant identified in South Africa.

This was contained in a press statement titled, ‘Travel restrictions update: South Africa ban extended, (and Jerusalem)’ the ’s website.

It stated that the restriction will take effect Saturday and remain in place for two weeks.

The PUNCH gathered that the had on December 23, 2020, imposed a travel ban on South Africa.

Part of the statement read, “Entry into England will be banned to those have travelled from or through any southern African country in the last 10 days, including , Zimbabwe, Botswana, Eswatini, Zambia, Malawi, Lesotho, and Angola – as well as Seychelles and Mauritius.

“This does not include British and Irish Nationals, longer-term visa holders and permanent residents, will be able to enter but are required to self-isolate for 10 days on arrival along their household.

“The has therefore also removed Botswana, Seychelles and Mauritius from the travel corridor list, the changes coming into place from 4am on Saturday 9 January 2021.

“Any exemptions usually in place – including for those related to employment – will not apply and those British nationals arriving into England from the other southern African countries, Seychelles and Mauritius after 4am on Saturday 9 January cannot be released from self- through Test to Release. People sharing a household anyone self-isolating from these countries will also have to self-isolate for 10 days.

“Ministers have also removed (and Jerusalem) from the ’s travel corridor list, as data from the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public England has indicated a significant change in both the level and pace of confirmed cases of coronavirus. The decision to remove (and Jerusalem) has been made following a sustained and accelerating increase in COVID-19 cases per 100,000 of the population, similar in trajectory to the .”