Dr Kingsley Obiora Takes Over From Joseph Nnanna As Deputy Governor, CBN

Whatsapp News

By Chibuike Nwabuko

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – With the Senate confirmation on Wednesday, Dr Kingsley Obiora will be taking over as the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) on February 2, 2020.

Sundiat Post recall that President Muhammadu Buhari had on January 16, asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of Dr Obiora as the Deputy Governor of Central Bank Of Nigeria.

Buhari had in a letter addressed to the President of The Senate, Sen Ahmed Lawan, said the nomination was in accordance with the provision of Section 8(1) (2) of the CBN (Establishment) Act 2007.

Obiora’ appointment was confirmed after the Chairman, Senate on Banking, Sen Uba Sani presented a report for consideration.

Sen Sani, while presenting his report on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Thursday, said Obiora’ nomination was in accordance with section 8 of the Act.

The senator also said his committee did not receive any petition against the nominee.

“The committee did not receive any petition against the nominee. He has the experience and has a good track record,” he said.

“The committee screened the nominee and it is satisfied. I hereby recommend that he be confirmed as deputy of CBN.

Senator Sani said Dr Obiora’ appointment will boost the national economy because of his wealth of experience.

Obiora’ appointment was confirmed by a voice vote after the lawmakers had voted on his nomination in the committee of the whole.

With his confirmation by the senate, Dr Obiora will replace Dr. Joseph Nnanna who retires on February 2, 2020.

Also, the senate confirmed the appointment of Zikrullah Olakunle Hassan as the chairman of the National Hajj of Nigeria (NAHCON).

Hassan’ appointment was confirmed after Adamu Bulkachuwa, chairman of the senate committee on foreign affairs, presented a report.

Nominees whose appointment was also confirmed for the hajj are Abdullahi Magaji Hardawa (operation, inspection and licensing) from Bauchi, north-east; Nura Hassan Yakasai (policy, personnel management and finance), Kano, north-west; and Sheikh Momoh Suleman Imonikhe (planning, research, statistics and library), Edo, south-south).

Others are Halimat Jibril (Niger), Abbas Jato (Borno), Garba Umar (Sokoto), Ibrahim Ogbonnah Amah (Ebonyi), Sadiq Oniyesaneyene Musa (Delta) and Akintunde Basirat Olayinka (Ogun).