Home Politics Ekiti 2022: Fayose’s anointed candidate wins Ekiti PDP Governorship ticket

Ekiti 2022: Fayose’s anointed candidate wins Ekiti PDP Governorship ticket

An anointed candidate of former Gov. Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti, Mr Bisi Kolawole, has emerged the Governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the June 18 election in the state.

Gov. Emmanuel Udom of Akwa-Ibom, who presided over the primary election on Wednesday in Ado-Ekiti declared Kolawole as winner.

According to Udom, Kolawole, having scored the majority votes and in accordance with the PDP Constitution is hereby declared the winner of the election.

Kolawole, a former member of the Ekiti House of Assembly, polled 671 votes of the total votes of 1,185 votes to emerge the party’s candidate in the primary held at the Eagle Event Centre, Ikere Road, Ado-Ekiti.

He defeated Mr Segun Oni, a former state governor and also an aspirant, who polled 330 votes in the election.

Also, another aspirant, Prof. Kolapo Olusola-Eleka, former Deputy Governor to Fayose and governorship candidate of PDP in the 2018 Governorship election in the state, came third with 93 votes.

Others are Mr Adewale Aribisala (56 votes); Kayode Adaramodu (10); Deji Ogunsakin (6 votes), while Sen. Biodun Olujimi, who had earlier pulled out of the race scored two votes, while Kemi Adewumi, had only vote.

In the primary election, 13 votes were voided in the 1,208 accredited delegates voters  and total votes cast were 1,185 votes.

Kolawole, in his acceptance speech, said the election was smooth, free and credible.

He promised to reach out to other aspirants who lost in the election so as to achieve the desired victory for the party in the June 18 election.

Segun Oni – 330
Bisi Kolawole – 671
Kayode Adaramodu – 10
Prof. Olusola Kolapo Eleka – 93
Deji Ogunsakin – 6
Hon. Adewale Aribisala – 56
Biodun Olujimi – 2
Kemi Adewumi – 1

Deborah Alo – 1 vote.

Lateef Ajijola – 1 vote.
Void votes – 13
Total number of votes cast – 1,185
Number of accredited voters – 1208