Electoral C’ttee lauds peaceful conduct of APC LG congress in Lagos

Whatsapp News

By Adeyemi Adeleye/Adekunle Williams

Lagos – The All Progressives Congress (APC) Electoral Committee for Local Government Congress in Ifako-ijaiye LGA, Lagos State, has commended the peaceful conduct of members and stakeholders.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that APC LGA congress, held nationwide on Saturday.

Mr Sultan Adeniji-Adele , member of the APC committee for Ifako-Ijaiye , gave the commendation on Saturday after the exercise.

He applauded the peace among the party faithful, which he said, aided the smooth and successful conduct.

He said party leaders and members demonstrated proper conduct and peaceful coexistence, irrespective of the various tribes that made up the party in the council.

Explaining the process, Adeniji-Adele said the committee started the accreditation of the party’s delegates who in turn, affirmed the LG party executives through a voice vote.

“The committee is happy what we saw here and we will give a report to the congress committee at the top. So far so good, the electoral committee is satisfied with the conduct.

“After the accreditation, the second step was to go ahead to call candidates for different offices and all party members here affirmed via voice votes.

“This made our job easier here,” he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the council has 11 wards and 27 executive members elected at the July 31 ward congress.

Also speaking on the LG congress, Mr Ahmed Omisore, a former member of the Lagos State House of Assembly and chieftain of APC in Ojokoro LCDA, commended members for allowing peace.

“Today we are returning the party to our be electing new to run our party.

” There was no rancor in the election of the 27 party executives from the chairman to the ex-officios.”

Also, Mr Benjamin Olabinjo, former Chairman, Ojokoro LCDA, described the process as good and fair.

Olabinjo, a national delegate of APC from the council, urged party stakeholders across the council to tolerate one another to move it forward.

NAN reports that 27 executives and three national delegates emerged at the congress.

Mr Banjo Omole emerged as Chairman, Mr Jelili Olaiya (Vice Chairman), Mr Sanjo Ogunboyede (Secretary), Mr Aduroju Olusola (Legal Adviser), Ms Fatimah Owolabi (Treasurer) and Mr Kole Awogbule(Financial Secretary).

Others were Mr Oni Falokun (Organising Secretary), Mr Toyin Taiwo (Publicity Secretary), Mr Femi Smith (Auditor), Ms Sekinat Gbajobi (Women Leader), Mr Alamutu Awwal (Youth Leader) and Mr Lekan Owolabi (Physically Challenged).

The three national delegates were Mr Akin Fadayomi, Mr Adekunle Olayinka and Mr Benjamin Olabinjo. (NAN)