Home News FCT Minister Bags Igbinedion Varsity’s Honorary PhD

FCT Minister Bags Igbinedion Varsity’s Honorary PhD


Minister of FCT, Senator Bala Mohammed has been awarded a doctorate degree (Honoris Causa) by the Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State. The degree is to be conferred on him on November 29 as part of the activities marking the 12thConvocation ceremony of the private university.

According to a letter from the Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Eghosa E. Osaghae to the minister, the award is in recognition of Senator Bala Mohammed’s contributions to the giant developmental strides in the Federal Capital Territory especially in the areas of good governance, human and infrastructural development as they relate to President Goodluck Jonathan’s transformation agenda.

According to the letter, the FCT minister is among the “few persons who in the estimation of the Board of Regents, Governing Council and Senate of the university, have made a difference to human development and are clearly deserving of the honor”.

The Igbinedion varsity Vice Chancellor explained further: “I am pleased to inform you that the university has decided to confer an honorary Doctorate Degree on you at the Twelfth Convocation to be held on Saturday November 29, 2014. This is  in recognition of your outstanding contributions in the fields of governance and national development as an exemplary leader, administrator and developmentalist, astute politician, generational icon, role model and national bridge builder.”

Igbinedion University is a frontline private university in Nigeria with a student population of over 5000. About 65 percent of these are notably made up of female students. The university has so far produced eleven sets of graduates in various disciplines including Medicine, Law, Accounting, Engineering, Pharmacy, Computer Science, Mass Communication, Banking and Finance and Economics.

Among eminent personalities who had been conferred with honorary doctorate degrees during past convocation ceremonies of the university are the late South African President, Dr. Nelson Mandela, former Prime Minister of Jamaica, Most Hon. P. J. Patterson, former President Shehu Shagari, former Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar, King Zwelithini Goodwill Kabhekuzulu of Zululand, South Africa, the Ooni of Ife, Alaiyeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the Asantehene (Ghana), King Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, former First Lady, Mrs. Maryam Babangida and the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala, among others.

Previous articleWitnesses testify in N17.7m property demolition case
Next articleMalta Guinness launches GAMEON campaign to find Naija’s true passion! Fashion vs Football

Leave a Reply