Home News FIFA And UEFA Suspend All Russian Clubs And National Teams From All...

FIFA And UEFA Suspend All Russian Clubs And National Teams From All Competitions


Fifa and Uefa have banned Russian football clubs and national teams from all competitions.

The decision was taken after Russia invaded Ukraine, according to BBC.

The world and European football governing bodies said they would be banned “until further notice”.

It means the Russian men’s team will not play their World Cup play-off matches next month and the women’s team have been banned from this summer’s Euro 2022 competition.

Spartak Moscow have also been kicked out of the Europa League and their last-16 opponents RB Leipzig will advance to the quarter-finals.

Uefa has also ended its sponsorship with Russian energy giant Gazprom.

“Football is fully united here and in full solidarity with all the people affected in Ukraine,” Fifa and Uefa said in a joint statement.

“Both presidents hope that the situation in Ukraine will improve significantly and rapidly so that football can again be a vector for unity and peace amongst people.”

Fifa and Uefa decided to take action after Russia, supported by Belarus, launched a military invasion of neighbouring Ukraine last Thursday.


Previous articleConstitution Review: Senate passes LG administrative autonomy bill
Next articleSenate: Mansur Bindawa now NCC non-executive commissioner

Leave a Reply