Home Sports First Kwara City Basketball League Dunks off in Ilorin

First Kwara City Basketball League Dunks off in Ilorin


ILORIN – Eight teams have registered to participate in the first Maigida Grassroots Basketball City League, which begins on Saturday, Oct. 25, in Ilorin, the Kwara capital.

The teams include Falcons, Unilorin, Al-Hikmah University, Braves, Falcons Feeder, Eagles Stars, Nigeria Police – Kwara Command and the Civil Defence.

The Special Assistant on Sports to the Governor, Mr Kayode Bankole, addressed Sportswriters on Friday in Ilorin, ahead of the championship.

He charged the participants to use the opportunity to exhibit their talents and make a career in Sports.

Bankole, who is sponsoring the City League, also pledged government’s continued support to the State’s Basketball team.

He reassured the Kwara Basketball Association that the state government would soon redeem all its promises to the state’s basketball team, the Falcons.

Bankole said the state government would continue to give adequate and timely response to sport in the state.

The governor’s aide also congratulated the Falcons for retaining its status in the DSTV Basketball Premier league and commended the players for their doggedness.

The State’s Director of Sports, Mr Tunde Kazeem, represented by the Head of Organisation at the State Sports Council, Jimoh Oke, commended the Association for their commitment.

He also called for the extension of the League to other Local Government Areas in the state.

The Chairman of the State’s Basketball Association, Dr Joseph Adeyemo, said the League, which would end on Saturday, Nov.1, was put in place to support government’s efforts at developing Sports.

He said it would also create a competitive atmosphere to enhance the discovery of talents, especially at the grassroots, who would form the nucleus of the state’s Basketball Team.

Adeyemo reiterated the determination of the association to take Basketball to the next level in the state.

He added that fantastic prizes would be given to the first three teams, the most valuable player and the best-behaved team. (NAN)

Previous articleJonathan’s transformation agenda relies on science, technology – Minister
Next articleFuneral prayers held for Sudanese ambassador at National Mosque

Leave a Reply