Gov. Diri inaugurates gender violence response committee, says men are also victims

Whatsapp News

Gov. Douye Diri of inaugurated the state’s Gender Response Initiative Team in Yenagoa on Wednesday as part of efforts to curb domestic violence.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports the committee is headed by gender advocate and legal practitioner, Mrs Dise Ogbise.

Inaugurating the 18-member committee, Gov. Diri said with the signing of the Violence against Persons Prohibition Law earlier this year, became one of the few states had domesticated the federal law.

The governor charged the committee members to collaborate with relevant ministries, departments and agencies, particularly the Ministries of Affairs and Justice to ensure the implementation of the law to the letter.

He noted the task ahead of the committee was enormous and urged members to tackle the menace holistically as there had been cases where men were victims of domestic violence and abuse.

He expressed confidence in the committee’s capacity to nip issues of violence against persons in the bud as its membership included medical personnel, lawyers, and a law enforcement agent among other professionals.

“I charge you to work as a team and bring your experiences to bear on your mandate in the interest of the state.

“The chairman of this committee has a lot of experience because of what she has been doing in the Federation of International Lawyers as well as advocating on gender-based issues in the state,’’ Gov. Diri said.

In her response, the chairperson expressed the commitment of the committee to discharge its mandate in line with the provisions of the State Violence against Persons Prohibition Law 2021.

Mrs Ogbise thanked the governor, wife, Dr Gloria Diri and members of the state’s House of Assembly for the confidence reposed in committee members.

She assured with their support, the committee would take the campaign against domestic violence to every nook and cranny of the state.

Members of the committee are Mrs Maria Olodi-Osumah (Vice Chairman), Mr Inatimi Odio (Secretary), Dr Anne Obuebite, Dr Omietimi James, Dr Arubiosou Ebimobowei and Barr. Deme Pamoso.

Others are Lady Perekebina Berezi, Bogofanyo Perekibina, Mr Panebi Jacob, Felicia Owei, Mrs Juliet Teibowei and Mrs Blessing Komonibo.

Mary Accra Bekowei, Yemi Atotu, a Superintendent of Police, Grace Richman, Hajia Miriam Abeki and Rosemary Oweifawari are also members.