GTB wins double awards, Azura-Edo IPP project shines at African Banker Awards

Whatsapp News

By Alex Chiejina (With Agency Report)

LAGOS – GT Bank made it a double scoop of awards at the African Bankers Award with the bank’s CEO Segun Agbaje recognised as Africa’s Banker of the Year for his leadership of the Nigerian banking giant and the bank emerging the best innovative bank in Africa. Also, the Azura-Edo IPP won the Infrastructure Deal of the Year on the African continent.

The awards, held annually on the fringes of the Annual Meetings of the , celebrate excellence in banking and finance on the African continent. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Awards and the 2016 winners were selected from over 200 entries from across the continent.  Since their inception ten years ago, the African Banker Awards have become the pre-eminent ceremony recognising excellence in African banking.

Omar Ben Yedder, Group Publisher of African Banker magazine, which hosts the awards in partnership with BusinessInAfricaEvents noted: “It has definitely been a defining decade in banking in Africa. We have recognised true leaders tonight who are playing a critical role in the socio- development of the continent. Finance remains a key component of development, be it in terms of financing massive infrastructure that today are being wholly financed by consortia of African banks, or SME financing.

“It’s happening because of strong, bold and visionary leadership. I have been privileged to honour some truly exceptional individuals who have left an indelible mark on the industry over the years. We are very grateful to our High Patron, the AfDB, for their unwavering support in this and our thanks also go to our sponsors: MasterCard, Ecobank, Nedbank, African Guarantee Fund, PTA Bank, CRDB Bank, Arton Capital and Qatar Airways for partnering with us and enabling us to reward outstanding achievements, commend best practices and celebrate excellence in African banking.”

This year’s judging panel was made up of Koosum Kalyan, Chairman of  EdgoMerap Pty Ltd; Zemedeneh Negatu,Managing Partner of Ernst & Young ; Tom Minney, Chief of African Growth Partners; Alain le Noir, CEO of  Finances Sans Frontières; Christopher Hartland-Peel, Principal at Hartland-Peel Africa Equity Research and Kanika Saigal, Deputy Editor of African Banker Magazine.

Below is a list of the 2016 African Banker Award winners

Bank of the Year 

Attijariwafa Bank (Morocco)

Banker of the Year 

Segun Agbaje – GTBank (Nigeria)

Minister of Finance of the Year 

Alamine Ousmane Mey (Cameroon)

Central Bank Governor of the Year 

Patrick Njoroge (Kenya)

African Banker Icon 

Daniel Matjila, CEO PIC (South Africa)

Lifetime Achievement Award 

Paul Fokam, Founder Afriland First Bank (Cameroon)

Investment Bank of the Year 

Rand Merchant Bank (South Africa)

Award for Financial Inclusion 

Ecobank (Togo)

Best Retail Bank 

BCI ()

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year 

Commercial International Bank (Egypt)

Innovation in Banking

Guaranty Trust Bank (Nigeria)

Deal of the Year – Equity 

Naspers $2.5bn Accelerated Equity Offering (Citi)

Deal of the Year – Debt 

Cameroon’s Currency Swap (Lazard)

Infrastructure Deal of the Year 

Azura – Edo IPP (Fieldstone; Rand Merchant Bank; Standard Bank; IFC)

Best Regional Bank in North Africa 

Commercial International Bank (Egypt)

Best Regional Bank in West Africa 

Banque Atlantique (Côte d’Ivoire)

Best Regional Bank in Central Africa 

BGFI (Gabon)

Best Regional Bank in East Africa 

CRDB Bank (Tanzania)

Best Regional Bank in Southern Africa 

MCB (Mauritius)