Home Politics House of Reps names conference committee on Electoral Act

House of Reps names conference committee on Electoral Act


The House of Representatives on Tuesday named a seven-man conference committee to work with the Senate to harmonise grey areas in the Electoral Act amendment bill passed by both chambers before their summer break.

Members of the Committee include Akeem Adeyemi, who will lead the team; James Abiodun Faleke (APC, Lagos); Aisha Dukku (APC, Gombe); Blessing Onuh (APC, Benue); Nyima Idem (PDP, Akwa Ibom); Chris Azubogu (PDP, Anambra) and Abdullahi Kalambaina (APC, Sokoto).

The Conference Committee is to work with the Senate Committee, which was constituted on resumption of plenary to perfect the Electoral Act and get it ready for Presidential assent.

Although it is not clear how long the committee has to carry out it’s assignment, the House has said it was committed to passing the electoral Act to provide for the smooth conduct of the 2023 general elections.

Details shortly…


Previous articleUnemployment, hardship force young Nigerians to leave country as they post departure photos on social media
Next articleJUST IN: Many feared killed as mining site collapses in Benue