How APC’s Lawal Retains Rep Seat After Ajaokuta Rerun

Spread the love

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – Hon. Idirisu Lawal of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was on Saturday, declared the winner of the Ajaokuta Federal Constituency rerun election.

Whatapp NewsTelegram News

In the result announced by the Returning Officer, Prof. Rabiu Balarabe, Lawal polled 13, 738 votes in the affected 22 polling units, to defeat the candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Aloysius Okino, who polled 9,176 votes.

The Appeal Court had in October, ordered for a rerun into the Ajaokuta Federal constituency, in 22 polling units.

The court, in its ruling on an appeal by the PDP candidate, ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct rerun elections in 22 polling units in the constituecy.

Before the rerun, Lawal had 9, 040 while Okino had 9, 035 making the returned lawmaker leading with just five votes.

In the rerun the APC candidate polled 4, 698 while that of the PDP polled 141; leading with 4, 557 votes.

Reacting to his victory, Lawal hailed the constibutions of Governor Yahaya Bello, the administrator of Ajaokuta LGA, Hon. Mustapha Akaaba and the member representing Ajaokuta Constituency in the state assembly, Hon. Abdullahi Hassan Balogun, for standing tall to ensure the victory of the party.

Culled from The Nation

Spread the love