Home News Kwara sets up panel on Share/Tsaragi clash

Kwara sets up panel on Share/Tsaragi clash


ILORIN (Sundiata Post) – Kwara State Governor, Dr Abdulfatah Ahmed has inaugurated a judicial Commission of Enquiry on Share/Tsaragi communities clash with a charge on the members to find lasting solutions to the crisis and bring peace to both communities.

Governor Ahmed also charged the members of the judicial commission to find out remote and immediate causes of the civil disturbance between the two communities which occurred on Saturday December 19, 2015 with loss of lives and destruction of properties.

The terms of reference of the commission, according to the governor, are to: investigate and ascertain the immediate and remote causes of the violence between the two communities; ascertain the extent of loss and damage to lives and properties following the civil disturbance and determine the conduct of any person, groups of person or associations that in any way contributed to the violent clashes.

Others are to: investigate and identify persons or group of persons other than security personnel who possessed firearm during the course of the civil disturbance; identify any external or extraneous factors that led to the disturbance and make recommendations for lasting solutions to the civil disturbances.

Governor Ahmed emphasised that anyone found culpable would be brought to book, no matter how highly placed, and expressed hope that the commission’s recommendations would be relied upon to put an end to the communal clash.
[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”70560″]
The governor reminded the people of the state that Kwara is a state of harmony and that unity, peace and love for one another should be paramount in their everyday lives.

Chairman of the Commission, Justice Suleiman Akanbi, in his response, assured Governor Ahmed that the commission would discharge its responsibility without fear or favour, adding that it will not only ensure that justice is done.

Other members of the judicial commission are: Mr. John Ojo, Mr. Mohammed Ibrahim, Mallam Abubakar Mora, Mr. Rasaq Bola Gold, Mr. H. A Gegele and Alh. AbdulGaniyu Opeloyeru.

Previous articleAlaafin names Aregbesola the ‘Omoluabi of Yorubaland’, calls on people to pay their taxes. ‎
Next articleSenate Ethics, Privileges Committee receives 65 petitions

Leave a Reply