May 29: Anyim, Sylva head transition, inauguration committees; unfold week-long hand over plan

Whatsapp News

ABUJA (Sundiata Post) – The Inauguration Planning Committee (PIPC)‎ met Thursday and announced a one-week of activities leading the May 29 inauguration of President-elect, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari.

‎In a joint press briefing by the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim and ‎co-chair, former governor of Bayelsa State, Mr. Timepre Sylva, the programme will kick-off with ‎press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational ‎church service, inauguration dinner, ‎swearing-in ceremony‎, lunch immediately after the swearing-in ceremony and a gala night‎ on May 29.

Both chairmen listed names of members of the committee from both the present administration and the incoming administration.

Anyim said ‎there are two parallel committees: the transition committee and inauguration committee.

Two parallel transition committees, according to the SGF, work independent of each other but interface at a point.

The inauguration committee on the other hand, Anyim said, is structured to be joint committee of the present administration and incoming administration and is chaired by himself for the present administration and Sylva for the incoming administration.

The members of the committee for the present administration include: Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, (Chairman).

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

are Chief of Defence‎, Air Chief Marsall, Alex Badeh; Ministers of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe;
, Osita Chidoka; Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Interior, Abba Moro; Office of National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; IGP Solomon Aresa; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (rtd); Commander, Brigade of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Affairs (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of incoming government are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, ‎Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kaw_ Baraje, Sen John Shagaya, Hadiza Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Funtua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Engr. Babachir Lawal and Hon. Samson Osagie.

‎The mandate of the committee is to draw up programmes of activities for the inauguration ceremony, ‎arrange invitations and accommodation for foreign and local dignitaries, organise approved programme of activities , draw up budget‎ for the programme of activities and co-opt into subcommittees persons that may be necessary to assist in the discharge of activities.

The inauguration has had two meetings thus far.
The purpose of the Thursday press briefing was to present the programme to the public, seek their understanding, support and participation in the 2015 presidential inauguration.

“We have accordingly created sub-committees ‎to focus on each activity. The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities,” Anyim said.