N1.5 m bribery: NFA slams 10-year ban on board member, former commissioner

Whatsapp News

By SundiataPOST, Abuja
The Nigeria Football Association (NFA) Monday, imposed a 10-year ban on a member of the board, Mr Olaleye Adepoju, for allegedly receiving bribe from a football club.
The Chief Media Officer of the NFA, Mr Ademola Olajire, said this in a statement issued in Abuja on Monday.
Also affected by the ban, according to Olajire, is a former Commissioner for Sports in State, Mr Dapo Lam-Adesina.
Olajire said the decision to ban the two sports administrators was taken by the Emergency Committee of the NFA.
He said the committee’ action followed a recommendation of the investigative committee headed by Mr Chris Green, also a board member of the NFA.
By the ban, the duo had been prohibited from engaging in football activities for the entire duration of the ban.
Olajire said   that the committee unanimously agreed that the case against Adepoju was proved beyond reasonable doubt.
Adepoju was alleged to have collected N1.5 million from Shooting Stars Sports Club of Ibadan, a Glo Premier League side.
The money was to help influence a decision in their favour in an abandoned league game against Sunshine Stars in Akure.
Adepoju, who is also the Oyo FA Chairman, had in his defense admitted he collected the money from the club.
However, he insisted that the money was for professional services he rendered to the club as its lawyer.
Meanwhile, the Emergency Committee has invited the to investigate the allegation of impersonation preferred against Mr Chidi Ofo Okenwa, the Chairman of Enugu State Football Association.
The committee also ordered Okenwa to step aside pending the determination of the case against him.
The committee said that the decision also followed the recommendation of the investigative committee into the allegation.
The Chairman of the NFA, Alhaji Aminu Maigari, as well as his deputy, Chief Mike Umeh, were present at the meeting.
NFA board who also attended the meeting were Chief Emeka Inyama, Alhaji Muazu Suleyman, Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed and Alhaji Ahmad Kawu.