Home Sports NFA promises to restore FA Cup glory

NFA promises to restore FA Cup glory


ABUJA – Musa Amadu, NFA Secretary-General said on Tuesday that that the NFA would continue to do its best to bring back the glory of the Federation Cup, otherwise known as FA cup.
He said in Abuja during the FA Cup draws that efforts were being intensified to ensure the competition had substantive sponsors.
“We are trying our best for the past three, four years to bring back the glamour of the FA Cup now christened the Federation Cup.
 “Of course it has been largely sponsored by both NFA and the Lagos State Government; we are still on the lookout for a substantive sponsor of the Federation Cup.
 “But I know we are moving in the right direction.
 “Probably in a couple of years we should be able to get a title sponsor so that the federation cup can continue to be as glamorous as it used to be.”
At the draws, 20 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) got what could be described as easy pairing.
 Twenty NPFL clubs, 17 Nigeria National League (NNL) clubs, 14 Nigeria Nation-Wide League clubs and 13 non-league clubs will face each other in the competition.
 The NPFL clubs are Enyimba of Aba, Nembe City of Brass, Heartland of Owerri, Sharks of Port Harcourt, Gombe United, Warri Wolves, Nasarawa United, Sunshine Stars of Akure and Rangers International of Enugu.
 Others are Giwa FC of Jos, Lobi Stars FC of Makurdi, FC Taraba, Abia Warriors, El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri, Dolphins FC of Port Harcourt, Bayelsa United, Akwa United FC of Uyo and Kano Pillars.
 The draw will see Enyimba engage Sokoto United, while CBN Cashless FC of Jigawa will square up against Nembe City of Brass.
 Heartland of Owerri will engage Ebonyi United while Ikpeazu FC of Anambra will have their hands full when they confront Enugu Rangers.
 Sharks FC of Port Harcourt will trade tackles with Kwara United; Young Elephants of Bauchi will test their might against Nasarawa United while Kaduna United tackle Leopard FC of Cross River.
In other encounters Crown FC of Ogbomosho face Bright Stars of Ebonyi, Remo Stars are up against Bayelsa United, Akwa United meet FC Abuja, Gateway FC engage Kano Pillars, while Giwa FC face ABS FC, Ilorin.
 Elsewhere, Lobi Stars will slug it out with Tornadoes Feeders of Minna, FC Taraba against AS Racine of Lagos, Abia Warriors tackle Mafara United FC of Zamfara, while Wikki Tourists of Bauchi will test El-Kanemi of Maiduguri.
Dolphins were paired to face Ingas FC of Enugu, as Gombe United play Patin FC of Imo, while Warri Wolves square up against Dan Buran FC of Katsina.
 Draw for the Women FA Competition was also conducted with 10 Women Premier League teams, five Professional League teams and three non-league team to encounter each other. (NAN)

Previous articleConfab adopts Finance Committee report, approves removal of subsidy
Next articleNASRDA collaborates with UNDP to tackle deforestation

Leave a Reply