NFF acting chairman to convene emergency meeting over Keshi’s contract

ABUJA – The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) board on Wednesday in Abuja approved that its Acting Chairman, Mike Umeh, convene an NFF Emergency Committee meeting.

According to the communiqué of the board’s meeting, signed by its Chairman of Media and Publicity, Emeka Inyama, the emergency committee meeting would “finalise details of Stephen Keshi’s re-engagement as Super Eagles’ coach’’.

It said the meeting, which followed the report of a three-man committee appointed to open channels of communication with Keshi, has to be convened within the shortest possible time.

The board had on July 24 set up a three-man committee to open negotiations with Keshi over the renewal of his contract.

The committee, working in conjunction with NFF’s Technical committee, had earlier on Wednesday recommended that Keshi’s contract be renewed for continuity purpose.

Keshi’s two and a half years’ contract expired after the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

“Following the report of a three-man committee appointed to open communication with Keshi on the probability of renewal of Super Eagles’ contract, we approved that Umeh convene an Emergency Committee meeting.

“The meeting, which will be convened within the shortest possible time, will approve/finalise details of Keshi’s possible re-engagement,’’ the communique said.

The communiqué also said that the Executive Committee has decided to retain the Electoral Committee headed by Amoni Biambo with the exclusion of Akpo Mudiaga-Odje and Pascal Patrick.

“The Electoral Appeals Committee is also retained with the exclusion of Eddy Mark who is also a Chairman of one of NFF’s judicial bodies.


“But the Electoral Congress of the NFFwill still hold on Aug. 26 in Abuja while the General Assembly will now hold on Wednesday, Nov. 18 at a venue to be determined later,’’ it said further.

The communique added that the board also constituted “a five-man committee to review the issue of bans on persons within the Nigeria football family and report back to the body within three days’’.

“The Committee, which was immediately inaugurated by the Acting Chairman, Umeh, is headed by Effiong Johnson and has Shehu Adamu, Deji Tinubu, Dilichukwu Onyedinma and Suleima Yahaya-Kwande as members.

“It has Christian Emeruwa as Secretary,’’ the communiqué said.

The NFF had in October 2013 banned Rumson Baribote and Olaleye Adepoju from all football-related activities for 10 years each, and Taiwo Ogunjobi for 15 years.

The communiqué also said that the Executive Committee reaffirmed Musa Amadu as the General Secretary of the NFA, while it unanimously appointed Shehu Adamu as Acting First Vice-Chairman.

Umeh, who was the NFF’s First Vice-Chairman, was on July 24 appointed the Acting Chairman following the impeachment of Aminu Maigari as the NFF Chairman on the same day.

The communiqué added that the Committee unanimously resolved that henceforth, funds generated from registration fees for the Men and Women Federations’ Cup competitions would be shared on 60/40 percentage.

“Henceforth, funds generated from the Men and Women Federations Cup will now be shared at the ratio of 60 percent to the NFA and 40 percent by the Football Associations in the states.

“Committee also expressed sincere appreciation to the Lagos state Government for hosting the Grand Finale of the Federations Cup for several years now.

“It also approved that the state host the next three editions in 2015, 2016 and 2017,’’ the communiqué said.(NAN)


Whatapp News