Nobel Peace Prize goes to journalists Maria Ressa, Dmitry Muratov

Whatsapp News

2021 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa Philippines and Dmitry Muratov from Russia.

award was won for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

Announcing shared award in Oslo on Friday, the Norwegian Nobel said that pair were “representatives of all journalists in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions’’.

Maria Ressa founded investigative journalism website Rappler and has focused much of her work on President Rodrigo Duterte’s controversial and violent war on drugs.

Muratov founded Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993 and has been its editor-in-chief for 24 years.

It is today one of the very few independent media outlets in and has seen six of its journalists murdered during that time.