Ondo election: INEC declares Akeredolu winner •How he floored Jegede, Ajayi

Whatsapp News

Governor Akeredolu


By Akinola Ajibo

Mr Rotimi Akeredolu has been re-elected as Governor of on back of a campaign in which he promised to provide composed and focused leadership marked by economic growth and improved security for people in state.

incumbent governor, a former President of , swept to victory winning 15 of 18 local governments, while Jegede won three.


Governor Akeredu of All Progressives Congress got 292,830 votes, while Jegede of Peoples Democratic Party and Agboola of Zenith Labour Party came second and third in the election 195,791 and 68,727 votes, respectively.


Based on the votes secured, the Chief Returning Officer for the election, Idowu Olayinka, returned Akeredolu as the governor-elect on Sunday at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Akure, which doubles as the final collation centre.


“Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected,” Olayinka declared said.


It is the second time the governor is defeating the PDP candidate. In 2016, Akeredolu, Ajayi as his running mate, defeated to win his first term as governor. Ajayi fell Akeredolu and chose to go against his boss this time around.


Residents of the state came on Saturday, across 3,009 polling units of 203 electoral wards/ areas in the 18 Local Government Areas (LGA) of the state, to choose their leader for the next four years.


The poll, the second major election to be conducted since the outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19) , was preceded by a dramatic campaign featuring 17 political parties and their candidates, all racing for the top political office in the -western state.


Up to 11 contenders pulled of the race in favour of other candidates just in the final days of the campaign the trio of Akeredolu, Jegede and Ajayi emerging as the leading contenders.


Ajayi’s conflict with Governor Akeredolu was of the intriguing issues the provided drama in the months preceding the election in the state.


After surviving an attempt by the State Assembly to impeach him, the deputy governor dumped the APC for the PDP. But after failing to secure the PDP’s governorship ticket, he joined the ZLP – the platform on which he contested.


Governor Akeredolu’s first tenure as governor will expire on February 23, 2021, with victory in the bag, he is on course to govern the state for another four years.


In the coming hours and days, it is expected that the opposition parties in their state will make their position on the outcome of the election known.


Under the Constitution, the outcome of a governorship can be contested at the Election Petitions and should aggrieved parties be dissatisfied, they can proceed to the Court of Appeal.


Any party who is still not satisfied with the decision of the appellate court is at liberty to approach the Supreme Court, which has the final say.


Here’s a breakdown of the number of votes scored by the three leading candidates in the 18 LGAs of the state. (News Express)