Only 2 Adamawa lawmakers secure re-election

Whatsapp News

Yola –  Only two out of 25 Adamawa House of Assembly members secured their re-election in the April 11 governorship and state legislative polls, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

The report said Messrs Adamu Usman (-Toungo) and Musa Mahmud (APC-Mayo-Belwa) will be returning for a second term.

They were among the 10 legislators sought re-election to the House.

The lawmakers lost in the polls contested on the platforms of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM), respectively.

Lawmakers lost to newcomers included Aloysius Babadoke (PDM-Leko/Koma), Umar Abdulkarim (PDM-Nasarawo/Binyeri), Simon Isa (PDP-Song), Ishaq Bala (PDP-Yola North), Suleiman Ribadu (PDP-Yola South) and Yetisuri Hammantukur (PDM-Jada/Mbulo).

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

Others are Usman Lamorde (PDP-Mubi South), Abubakar Jarengol (PDP-Mubi North) and Wafarninyi Theman (PDP-Hong).

However, two other serving lawmakers, Musa Kamale (PDP-Michika), and Laori Kwamoti (SDP-Numan) won their election to Madagali/Michika Federal and Numan/Lamurde/Demsa Federal Constituency, respectively.

The next Assembly will have 22 members, two PDP and one SDP.

The House, like the outgoing one have two females, Mrs Justina Obadiah (SDP-Lamurde) and Mrs Sodom Tayedi (-Numan).

One of the outgoing female lawmakers, Mrs Wilbina Jackson (PDP-Guyuk), who contested for Guyuk/Shelleng Federal lost to the candidate, while the other female lawmaker, Mrs Wale Fwa (PDP-Demsa), did not seek for any re-election.

This data is obtained from the April 11 state House of Assembly election results released by INEC in Adamawa and the nominal roll of the new state legislature. (NAN)