Home Politics Oyo APC holds primaries in only 6 LGs, tension in Iseyin

Oyo APC holds primaries in only 6 LGs, tension in Iseyin


IBADAN – Primaries to elect All Progressives Congress (APC) ward executives were held on Saturday in only six out of the  33 council areas of  Oyo State amidst tension in Iseyin and Oyo West Local Government Areas.

Investigation by the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) revealed that party members in 27 other council areas resolved on consensus arrangement to choose their ward executives.

The councils where primaries were held were Atiba, Oyo West, Afijio, Surulere, Ogo-Oluwa and Ogbomoso North.

The party’s Interim Chairman, Chief Akin Oke, confirmed the development in an interview with NAN.

The congress was, however, marred by threat to peace in some council areas such as Iseyin and Oyo West where party members disagreed on the mode of voting and choice of party leaders.

There was tension in Enkunle Ward 2 and 3, Ado-Awaye Ward 1 and Faramara in Ward 5 in Iseyin Local Government Area where party members opted for primaries but could not agree on the mode of voting.

Some party faithful were said to have opted for open ballot system of voting while others insisted on secret ballot.

The quick intervention of the party’s interim leadership in the council area doused tension although election was yet to commence as at the time of  filing this  report.

However, there was orderly conduct of the congress in the other eight wards across the council.

The Caretaker Chairman of the council, Alhaji Saheed Yusuf, in an interview with NAN commended party members for displaying the spirit of sportsmanship.

He said it was important for the party to remain focused ahead of the local government, state and national congress of the party on April 12, April 23 and May 24 respectively.

Yusuf appealed to those who emerged winners in the various wards to be humble in victory and remain dedicated to the doctrines of the party.

There was also tension in Oyo West Local Government which witnessed non-availability of voting materials as at 3.p.m. at Ward 2 Oke-Afin Akesan.

There were disagreements in Ward 9 between warring factions of the party over mode of voting and choice of leaders.

But Alhaji Olayide Abas, APC Chieftain in Ibarapa Zone of the state, told NAN that the ward congress in the area, which comprises Ibarapa Central, North and East, was peacefully conducted.

He said that the members in the various wards of the zone adopted the consensus method.

He said that the interests  of the various groups were  considered and harmonised.

The congress in Surulere, Ogbomoso South and Oriire Local Government area were conducted without rancor.

A NAN reporter who went round Ibadan metropolis, reports  that members elected their ward leaders on consensus basis.

Mr Solomon Ayanlola, APC Interim Chairman for Ogbomoso North Local Government, described the ward congress in the council as“  very peaceful.’’

Ayanlola said that primary election was peacefully conducted in eight of the 10 wards of the council area while the remaining two opted for consensus.

He said that congress was held in Ogbomoso South through consensus.

To ensure orderly conduct of the exercise, the NSCDC said between 800 and 1,000 personnel were deployed across the state.

Oluwole Olusegun, the organisation spokesman in the state, confirmed the deployment in an interview with NAN.

The police spokesperson, Mrs Bisi Clet-Ilobanafor, could, however, not be reached for her comments while a text message sent to her was not responded to. (NAN)

Previous articleJonathan urges Nigerian couples to love, endure other
Next articleCompany reaffirms commitment to physical, health education

Leave a Reply