PDP Congress: Voting commences with Ekiti delegates

Whatsapp News

Voting at the Zonal Congress of the Peoples Democratic Party had commenced with delegates from Ekiti state.

The exercise took at exactly 4:40 pm with ex-governor of Ekiti, Segun Oni, casting his vote at Wocdiff Centre, Osogbo where the event is being held.

The candidates were told to line as they were given ballot papers to cast their votes.

There is a heavy security presence at the Women and Children Development Initiative Foundation, the venue of the congress on , in Osogbo.

Men of the Nigeria , Department of State Security Service and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps were sighted at the entrance and around the venue.

Some of the security personnel were also strategically located a few kilometres away from the venue of the congress.

PDP picks Monday for South-West congress in Osun
PDP releases timetable for Yobe congresses
Though accreditation of delegates was fixed for 9: 00 a.m., it started two hours after.

42 aspirants were cleared by the PDP screening committee on Sunday to contest for the various positions in the zone.

The congress would be attended by 734 delegates across the six western states, The PUNCH learnt.

According to the list released by Retired Col. Austin Akobundu, the PDP National Organising Secretary, has 171 delegates, Osun – 130, Lagos 101, Ogun- 112, 114, and Ekiti with 115 delegates.

A deputy governor of Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, and the immediate zonal chairman of the party, Dr Eddy Olafeso, are contesting for the chairmanship position.

While Governor of Oyo State is supporting Arapaja for the chairmanship position, Mr Ayo Fayose, a former Ekiti governor is supporting Olafeso.