PDP governorship primaries: 8 aspirants walk out of election venue in Katsina

Spread the love

Katsina- Eight out of the nine PDP governorship aspirants in Katsina State have walked out of the venue of the primary election some minutes after the exercise commenced.

Whatapp NewsTelegram News

The aspirants are: Sen. Ibrahim Ida; Alhaji Nura Khalil; Alhaji Tukur Jikamshi; Alhaji Abdullahi Umar Tata and Alhaji Ahmed Yar’adua.

The rest are: Alhaji Kabir Bakiya; Alhaji Gide Yar’adua and Alhaji Narisu Dutsin-ma.

They left Alhaji Musa Nashuni in the contest, who they alleged Gov. Ibrahim Shema was trying to impose as PDP candidate against the wish of party members.

One of the aggrieved aspirants, Alhaji Abdullahi Tata, told newsmen that they were not satisfied with the way and manner the primary election was being conducted.

He said that the name of each local government was written on one box instead of making it on the boxes uniformly.

According to him, each ballot paper was numbered in correspondence to the names of delegate on the list so that any delegate who elected any person other than Nashuni would easily be identified and punished.

Tata also said that the aggrieved aspirants had also asked their agents to withdraw from the venue“since there is no transparency in the conduct of the election”.

Earlier, the Chairman of the election committee, Alhaji Abubakar Mu’azu, said that 1,372 delegates were screened for the poll.

He said that the party had made all necessary arrangements to ensure a hitch-free governorship primary in the state.

NAN reports that the election is taking place amid tight security.NAN)

Spread the love