Prof Ayodele Atsenuwa appointed as Unilag deputy vice chancellor

Whatsapp News

By Chibuike Nwabuko

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – Professor Law, Ayodele Atsenuwa has been appointed as Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( ) University .

At Statutory Meeting Senate held on Monday, March 29, 2021, she was elected via an electronic voting process 81 votes (63.28%).

Professor Ayodele Atsenuwa is a Professor of Law at Faculty of Law, University of . Her teaching and interests are wide and traverse Criminal Law and Criminal , Human Rights Law, Gender and the Law, Law and Religion as well as and Migration Law.

Within the legal academia, she is widely respected for her initiatives aimed at bridging the gap between legal academics and legal practice and is acknowledged for her efforts at evolving more -oriented law degree programmes in terms of content and teaching methodologies.

Outside the university system, Professor Atsenuwa has done much to contribute to closing the gap between legal theory and practice and to the advancement of sustainable in Africa through her leadership engagements. A of the Institute of Directors (IOD), she has served on the boards of several institutions and organizations, including the Legal and Resource Development Centre, CLEEN Foundation, Orderly Society Trust, Partnership for , Girls’ Power Initiative, Society Initiative for West Africa, National Agency for the Control of AIDS, Council of Legal of Nigeria, State Office of the Defender, Lagos State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy, National Advisory Committee on APRM-NEPAD and the NBA Task Force on the North-East.

She has consulted for various international development organisations including the United Nations, European Union , UK-DFID/British Council, United States Agency for International Development, Ford Foundation and the MacArthur Foundation, among others.

Professor Ayodele Atsenuwa is the immediate past Dean of the Faculty of Law and comes into her new office substantial administrative and community service experience.

Her appointment is for two (2) years and takes effect from Monday, March 29, 2021.