Regional leaders sign treaty for the Abidjan-Lagos corridor highway project

Spread the love


Whatapp NewsTelegram News

ABUJA – Leaders of Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria and Togo have signed a treaty formally establishing the ECOWAS Abidjan-Lagos corridor.


This is contained in a statement issued on Wednesday in Abuja by Mr Sunny Ugoh, the Acting Director of Communication at the ECOWAS Commission.

According to the statement, the treaty was signed at the just-concluded 44th Summit of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government in Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire.

It said that the treaty required the five countries to construct and manage the six-lane highway, and establish a corridor management authority with a supra-national status.

It said that the project was expected to facilitate safe and efficient movement of persons and goods in the region.

It said that the highway would also facilitate economic growth in the countries involved and the region as a whole.

The statement said that the five countries had already pledged to contribute 50 million U.S. dollars for preparatory activities on the project which has attracted significant donour interest.

The corridor will account for 70 per cent of commercial traffic within the ECOWAS region. (NAN)

Spread the love