Home Politics Rerun election: INEC declares Obasa winner for Ojo House of Reps

Rerun election: INEC declares Obasa winner for Ojo House of Reps


Lagos – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday in Ojo, Lagos State declared Mr Tajudeen Obasa winner of the Ojo Federal House of Representative rerun.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Lagos reports that the election was pronounced inconclusive by the electoral body after the Feb. 23 election because election did not take place in five polling units of the constituency.

NAN reports that the rerun that took place in the five affected units on Saturday, the APC scored 289 votes in addition to 25, 545 it earlier scored during the Feb.23 poll that amounted to 25,809 votes to emerge runner up in the contest..

While PDP candidate polled 142 at the rerun in addition to 28,891 votes earlier secured that amounted to 28,8039 votes to retain the ticket with a margin of 3,029 votes.

Declaring the outcome of the rerun, Dr Taibat Lawns of the University of Lagos and INEC Returning Officer for rerun said: “having satisfied all electoral requirements, Tajudeen Obada is hereby declared winner of the Ojo Federal House Representative,” she said.

Previous articleAmerica Warned Citizens To Avoid Ethiopian Airport Before Plane Crash
Next articleAPC clears Kwara South Senatorial District, State House of Assembly polls

Leave a Reply