Reus and Gomez back for Germany

Whatsapp News

Germany , Joachim Loew Friday named 18 of his winning squad for a friendly against Argentina and the opening European Champion qualifier against Scotland next week.
Strikers Marco Reus, who missed the World Cup due to , and Mario Gomez, who was overlooked for Brazil, have returned to the squad for the games in Dusseldorf on September 3 and Dortmund four days later.
Missing are former skipper Philipp Lahm, record goalscorer Misolsav Klose and defender Per Mertesacker, who have all retired from international football, and influential midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger, who is sidelined with a knee injury.
All will be present though as spectators in Dusseldorf in the re-run of the July 13 World Cup final which Brazil won 1-0 in extra-time with a goal from substitute Mario Goetze.
The friendly with Argentina had been arranged in March before the World Cup.
Loew said he was delighted to have Reus back in the squad, having torn ligaments in his left ankle in Germany’s final World Cup warmup match against Armenia. He returned to action for Borussia Dortmund in a German Cup match on August 16.
“We missed him in Brazil. I am sure he has some great tournaments ahead of him and will achieve great things,” Loew added.
Gomez, he said, had earned his way back into the national squad through his own hard work.
“If he is on top of his game we can use all of his qualities at the heart of our attack.”
Germany squad for a friendly against Argentina in Dusseldorf on September 3 and the Euro 2016 qualifier against Scotland in Dortmund on September 7:
Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hanover)
Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm (Dortmund), Matthias Ginter (Dortmund), Kevin Grosskreutz (Dortmund), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Dortmund), Antonio Rüdiger (Stuttgart)
Midfield/forwards: Julian Draxler (Schalke), Mario Gomez (Fiorentina/ITA), Mario Götze (Bayern Munich), Christoph Kramer (Moenchengladbach), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/ESP), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid/ESP), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal/ENG), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal/ENG), Marco Reus (Dortmund), Andre Schuerrle (Chelsea/ENG)  (