Home News Rivers Assembly swears in 9 lawmakers

Rivers Assembly swears in 9 lawmakers


Port Harcourt – The Rivers State House of Assembly on Thursday in Port Harcourt swore in nine lawmakers into the 8th Assembly, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

Congratulating the lawmakers, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Tamuno Adams, reminded them that their election was a call to serve, adding that he business of lawmaking must be taken serious.

Adams urged them to join hands to move the state forward.

However, the assembly halted the swearing in of a member-elect for Port Harcourt Local Government 1 (PHALGA 1), Mrs Victoria Nyeche, on allegations of forgery.

According to the Speaker, the assembly received a petition from the Civil Liberties Organisation (CLO) against the member-elect for allegedly using the Assembly Letter Headed Paper before being sworn in.

Nyeche, however, said that she would seek redress in court.

The state Assembly also confirmed the appointment of Justice Christy Nwankwo as the substantive President of the Customary Court of Appeal.

Confirming the appointment, the lawmakers, who voted unanimously in favour of her appointment, described the Judge as a woman of substance and integrity in Rivers judiciary.

Justice Nwankwo promised to introduce changes in the state’s customary laws in collaboration with the lawmakers.

She thanked the lawmakers, especially the state governor for having confidence in her ability to lead the state Customary Court of Appeal and pledged to live up to expectation.

Justice Nwankwo, until her appointment, was heading the court in acting capacity.

The assembly therefter, adjourned indefinitely. (NAN)

Previous articleReps grill I-GP over re-opening of Kogi Assembly
Next articleBill to establish Poverty Eradication Commission passes second reading

Leave a Reply