Home Education See How Edo Govt Deploys 1.5KVA Solar Power Boxes to 100 Rural...

See How Edo Govt Deploys 1.5KVA Solar Power Boxes to 100 Rural Schools


With the urge and effort to explore alternative power sources and mainstream innovative youths in community-focused projects, the Governor Godwin Obaseki-led administration has commenced the installation of 1.5KVA solar power boxes developed by youths at the Edo Innovation Hub, across 100 rural schools in the state.

The solar power boxes were developed by Green Fusion Energy Ltd., a company that emerged from innovation and business grooming at the Edo Innovation Hub, Benin City, and is providing solar energy to students in rural areas.

The Edo State Government set up the Hub to attend to the yearnings of technology innovators in the state, and it is providing opportunities for youths to co-create and develop solutions to local problems.

Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Skills Development and Job Creation, Mrs. Ukinebo Dare, said that the solar box was developed by a team at the hub, which has now grown into a full-fledged company delivering power solutions.

She added that the installation of the solar boxes in rural schools across the state was a fulfilment of Governor Obaseki’s pledge to the team after they impressed him during a pitch competition. She noted that the solar boxes are being installed in 100 schools under the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) by Green Fusion engineers while 50 other youths are undergoing training in different communities where the boxes are being installed.

She said the beneficiary schools include, “Aleye Primary School, Etsako Central Local Government Area (LGA); Akugbe Primary School, Etsako Central LGA; Efolo Primary School, Akoko Edo LGA; Afekunu Primary School, Akoko Edo LGA; Agbanehumu Primary School, Akoko Edo LGA; Abe Primary School, Orhionmwon LGA; Akengbuda Primary school, Urora in Ikpoba-Okha LGA; Akugbe Primary School, Ikpoba-Okha LGA; Adolor Primary School, Evboro; Binidodogha Primary School, Ovia South West LGA, and Aden River Primary School, Ovia South West LGA.”

Mrs. Dare added that the installation has been completed in Aibotise Primary School in Etsako West LGA, while installation is ongoing in Agbomoba Primary School, Agbomoba; and Abesi Primary School in Ovia South West LGA.”

Previous articleSenate adjourns to Wednesday over Rep Olatoye’s death
Next articleSen. Ayogu Eze’s spokesman describes results of Guber election in Enugu as “phantom’’

Leave a Reply