Senate Confirms EFCC Board Members

Whatsapp News

The nominees for the appointment of Secretary and Board of the Economic and Financial Commission (EFCC) by President Muhammadu Buhari has been confirmed by the Senate on Tuesday, October 5.

Those confirmed include George Abbah Ekpungu as Secretary from River State; Luqman Muhammed as board member from Edo State; Anumba Adaeze (member – Enugu); Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina (member – Kwara); and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad (member – Yobe).

The confirmation followed the presentation and consideration of the report of the on Anti- and Financial Crimes.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Suleiman Abdu Kwari, in his report, recommended that the nominees be confirmed by the Senate.

Buhari, in a letter dated September 17, 2021, urged the Senate to confirm the candidates as Secretary and board member of the EFCC.

The President explained that the request for the confirmation of the nominees was in accordance with the provision of section 2(1) of the Economic and Financial Commission (Establishment) Act, 2004.