Home News SUBEB Chairman Seeks Collaboration To Improve Education in Lagos

SUBEB Chairman Seeks Collaboration To Improve Education in Lagos


Lagos – The Executive Chairman of Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB), Mr Wahab Alawiye-King, has called for collaboration of all stakeholders to make education in the state better.

He said this in a statement issued by SUBEB’s Public Relations Officer, Eniola Adewunmi, and made available to newsmen on Friday in Lagos.

“We must join hands to make Lagos education a better place as we will leave no child behind in the access to quality education,”  Alawiye-King was quoted as saying at the inaugural meeting between the new board and staff members.

Alawiye-King said that Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu’ administration  was very passionate about providing quality education in the state.

He said there was need to work in synergy to achieve the desired success in the education  sector.

Mr Temidayo Israel, a member of the newly inaugurated board, expressed confidence in their ability to make public schools more efficient using 21st century innovations to educate pupils at the basic level.

“Every child that is of school age must get an education, and not just any education, but quality education,” he said.

Another member, Mr Adebayo Adefuye, said that the welfare of staff would be paramount in the board’s agenda.

“The future of the children is in the hands of the educators.

“There is the need to boost their morale to deliver their goods and make the future brighter for the children,”he said.

Adefuye said that that the primary concern of the board was the overall performance of the pupils, knowing the pupils learn, how they learn , their psychological state of mind and everything concerning child welfare.

Mrs Kehinde Ajimoti, the board secretary, while welcoming the chairman and board members on behalf of the staff, said the Federal Government’s policy of   ”a meal a day” for pupils in primary 1-3 was ongoing in the state.

Ajimoti pledged the support of all members of staff, educational secretaries, Nigerian Union of Teachers(NUT) and Association of Primary School Heads of Nigeria (AOPSHON) to the board, in the overall development of the education sector in the state.

Other board members include Mrs Amidat Sijuade Idowu-Taylor, Mr Shittu Hakeem Babatunde, Mr Saheed Oladapo Ibikunle and Mrs Abiola Seriki-Ayeni.

Previous articleVietnamese Police Detain Facebook User for Anti-state Propaganda
Next articleDSS Blocks Two Attempts By Court Bailiff To Re-Serve Court Order Over Sowore

Leave a Reply