Transit visa now compulsory for Nigerians travelling to UK – Air France

Whatsapp News

Air -KLM has reintroduced an Airport Transit Visa for citizens of some countries, including Nigeria and Ghana, travelling to the United Kingdom after Brexit.

The airline said this a statement titled, ‘Travel on Air or KLM to and from United Kingdom after Brexit – January 1, 2020’.

According to the statement, it is compulsory for citizens of some African and Asian countries to have ATV before they pass through or the Netherlands.

It also noted that citizens of the affected countries with British Visa, long-stay visa or British residence permit citizens must still have ATV to pass through to the United Kingdom.

“As of January 1, 2021, citizens of the following countries who are holders of a British visa, long-stay visa or a residence permit issued by the British authorities will to be in possession of an airport transit visa (ATV) if they transit through and or the Netherlands,” part of the statement read.

The countries affected are Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Cameroon, Central Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Ghana.

are Guinea, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Mauritania, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Senegal, Syria, Palestinians, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Sri Lanka.

Air said exception to the ATV requirements are “Citizens of the above-named countries holding a visa or residence permit in addition to the UK visa/residence permit from Canada, Japan, the USA or European countries are allowed to transit through France or the Netherlands without an ATV.”