UNICAL VC wins APC senatorial ticket in Cross River

The outgoing Vice-Chancellor of the University of Calabar, Prof Zana Akpagu, has won the All Progressives Congress primary to contest the October 31 bye-election for the Northern Cross River State Senatorial seat in the state.

Akpagu scored 75,490 votes to defeat his closest rival Joe Agi (SAN) and three other contestants for the APC ticket.

The results were announced by the Senatorial Returning Officer for the party, Mr Lazarus Undie.

Agi polled 12,813 votes, followed by Mr Odey Ochicha who got 1,612 votes, Harry Odey who got 239 votes, and Mr Fidel Egoro who scored 27 votes.

Undie while announcing the result declared Akpagu, who polled the highest number of votes, winner of the contest, and standard-bearer of the APC in the election.

“Based on what we have declared here, we state that Prof. Zana Akpagu having scored the highest number of votes in this contest is the winner of the APC Senatorial primary election,” he declared.

The result was announced in the presence of the representative of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Mr Asuquo Afia, who observed the conduct of the election with the Zonal Organising Secretary of the party, Atsu Liberty.


Whatapp News

Telegram News