Home News UPN holds primaries, chooses consensus candidates for NASS, house of assembly in...

UPN holds primaries, chooses consensus candidates for NASS, house of assembly in Ondo


AKURE – The Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), Ondo State chapter, on Wednesday in Akure held its House of Assembly, House of Representatives, and senatorial primary elections.
Speaking with newsmen, Mr Bosun Omosule, the Chairman, Planning Committee for UPN primaries, said the party elected the candidates by consensus.
“We have conducted a rancour-free primaries.
“Where we had two or three aspirants in any constituency, the leader meets with the delegates and came up with a candidate.
“You can see that everybody is happy; there is no bitterness and all is transparent,” he said.
NAN reports that the programme started at 11 a.m and ended at 1 p.m.
For House of Assembly candidates, Akure South 1 constituency chose Funmilayo Akinyemi; Akure South 2 chose Toyin Osundare; Ifedore had Oladapo Ajisafe; Okitipupa 1 elected Oluseun Obolo.
Okitipupa 2 elected Olayeye Ayeniyi; Odigbo 2 chose Olaoluwa Adesanya; Ilaje 1 got Mobuse Francis; Akure North had Obafemi Olasunkanmi, and Idanre elected Adeyemi Akinradewo.
Those elected for the House of Representatives for Ondo East and West included Alexander Akinwande; Ilaje/Ese-odo chose Owoetomo Godwin; Irele/Okitipupa chose Adesola Ajayi.
Akure North/South elected Akinwumi Gbenga; Idanre/Ifedore had Segun Akinyele; Owo/Ose chose Mariam Lawal; Odigbo/Ile-Oluji elected Adewumi Akintoye; Akoko North South/West selected Balogun Dada; Akoko North South/East chose Bello Rasheed.
For Senatorial candidates, Ondo South chose Ade Ogunjumelo, Ondo Central elected Etim Boboye, while Ondo North hade Olatunji Adebisi. (NAN)

Previous articleOver 500 child defilement cases reported in Lagos State in 2014, says AG
Next articleLibel: Court orders IGP, SSS, to confiscate Obasanjo`s book

Leave a Reply